Posted by: akostecka | May 21, 2008

Suffering Bedtime

Today could’ve been better because I missed our Lord at mass, but I bought some colorful hope in Colville today.  I bought some flowers for our planters, but the rain kept me from filling them. Maybe tomorrow I’ll fill them in the garage if it’s still raining like it was. 

I put the kids to bed tonight and began reading the book of James.  It is a small book with lots of great advice for young people.  I read it because it’s been a part of the lectionary the last few weeks and an easy read; a mere three and a half pages in my Bible.  With Brianna (8) and Naomi (4), and separately with Micaela (10), we read James 1:2-3 that says,

Consider it all joy, my brothers, when you encounter various trials,
for you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance.
What? Joy?!!  With trials?!  Yes, the wisdom of Christianity seems so foolish, but the truth is, when we consider trials like emptying the dishwasher, coming in from play, being patient with one another; when we consider these small, everyday sufferings a JOY, then, for having endured them with that joy, we can perservere through anything, at least we will be training to endure when the big stuff hits. 
Lord, help me to endure with joy the little trials of my day so that when I really need to persevere, I can rely on the practice that I’ve had.  Thank you for the practice and thank you for the trials.   Amen, good night.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

