Posted by: akostecka | June 4, 2008

Peace, child

Peace. 

“Blessed are the peacemakers, they will be called children of God” (Matthew 5:9)

I was thinking about how to have peace with others, and realized that it is hard to be at peace with others if you are not at peace with yourself, and I can’t be at peace with my self without first being at peace with God.  Today’s epistle reading from 2 Peter 3, verse 14 says, “…be eager to be without spot or blemish before him, at peace.”  Can I really be eager for righteousness?  How much do I really want to be a saint?  How much do I really want to be satisfied (cf Mt. 5:6)?  Would I not just be filled?  Or would I just burst?  Or is that just a lame excuse for not doing what I should?  Didn’t Augustine say something like, “I want to be holy, just not yet?” 

OK, enough excuses, it’s time to get right with God so I can get right with myself and get right with others.  I suppose this is really called reconciliation so that I can forgive as I have been forgiven.  Lord, only say the word and I, your servant, shall be healed and may I seek the one thing first, you alone.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

